HotChillee Enters Team to the Coronation Double Century Cycle Challenge in South Africa

Tuesday 20th November 2012

HotChillee, the global cycling events company, today announces its team riding the Coronation Double Century Cycle Challenge, a 202 km team race on 24th November. The 12-strong team has several professional guest riders, including winner of the Cape Argus Pick n Pay Cycle Tour 2005, Russ Downing from Nettapp Endura. It also includes former British National Champion Dean Downing who makes his move from Rapha Condor Sharp to the new Madison Genesis Team in 2013, headed up by Roger Hammond. Both will be riding in their current pro-team kit. The Downing brothers also completed the Momentum 94.7 as guest riders of Momentum in Johannesburg on 18th November 2012.

Pro riders Yanto Barker, Russ Downing & Dean Downing find time to spend with some of the children from the Morning Star Children's Centre as part of their charity involvement in South Africa on their earlier trip.

The squad will be racing against 200 other teams in the event dubbed as the ultra-marathon of cycling. Now in its 20th year, the race will take riders through some of the most challenging climbs in the area, including Tradouw Pass and Op de Tradouw. 

Dean Downing says: "I'm really looking forward to riding in the international team. It's a great privilege to be part of this challenging race. Cycling in South Africa is second to none; the terrain is tough, but the scenery is incredibly special."

Dean Downing with HotChillee founder, Sven Thiele

Sven Thiele, founder of HotChillee says: "We're delighted to be sending a team to ride in the Coronation Double Century Cycle Challenge, including our two guest riders Dean and Russ. South Africa is incredibly important to HotChillee, with the launch of the Cape Rouleur this year, the newest addition to our Global Events Series. We've had fantastic support from key cycling figures in the region and from the Minister of Tourism and Economic Development, Alan Winde. It's exciting to have a HotChillee team involved in a race with such heritage."

Other riders on the team include Andy Davies, Craig Edwards, Jarryd Haley, Zayin Krige, Warren Robertson, Trevor Seinen, Hector Charles Ross, Lance Stephenson, Christian Vancoillie and Dane Walsh.